Skip to main content
NewsArchitecture & Heritage

70 years of the Cité Radieuse: our summer program!

By 25 July 2022June 19th, 2023No Comments

A revolutionary vertical city, a temple to the Modern Movement and a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the Cité Radieuse, completed in October 1952, is celebrating its 70th anniversary!A visionary project commissioned from Le Corbusier by the French government in the aftermath of the Second World War, the Unité d’Habitation was inaugurated in 1952 and, from the outset, established itself as an avant-garde site and a modern icon.

Catalogue of the “Festival de l’art d’avant-garde”, Cité Radieuse, Marseille, 1956

Opening of the “Festival de l’art d’avant-garde”, Cité Radieuse, Marseille, 1956

To mark this anniversary, its residents, shopkeepers and the city of Marseille are getting together to host a number of events this summer and autumn, in exclusive partnership with our agency Architecture de Collection. Find out more about our not-to-be-missed events!

“Ombre est lumière”

An exhibition on the photographer Lucien Hervé

Until 18 September 2022, the Cité Radieuse is hosting a new exhibition of the work of photographer Lucien Hervé, curated by the Keitelman Gallery and Valérie Palacios.

Spread across different areas of the building, the exhibition presents a series of his early prints on the Unité d’habitation, in dialogue with a selection of photographs of modernist masterpieces taken between 1950 and 1965.

“Ranking among the greatest photographers of the 20th century, Lucien Hervé (1910 – 2007) is particularly renowned for his architectural shots.In 1949 his encounter with the work of Le Corbusier and then with the architect himself turned him definitively towards photography and in particular architectural photography. […] “

Imola Gebauer

In the hall and restaurant
Exhibition
18.07 – 18.09.2022

280 boulevard Michelet – 13008 Marseille

A la Supérette
Exhibition : 01 – 31.08.2022
Conference : 25.08.2022

280 boulevard Michelet – 13008 Marseille

Unité d’habitation, Marseille, Le Corbusier architecte, 1949 © Lucien Hervé – Getty Trust, Los Angeles/FLC-ADAGP

Brasilia, Brazil, Niemeyer architect, 1961 © Lucien Hervé

“Ombre est lumière” online…

To coincide with this exhibition-event, Architecture de Collection is offering an online image gallery, featuring a selection of images curated by Valérie Palacios, in the “Regards Photographiques” section of its website.

“Bright Hours” by Gerard & Kelly

Gerard & Kelly, Bright Hours, 2022. 4K video, colour, sound, 25 minutes. With Emara Neymour-Jackson. Adagp, Paris, 2022.

“Bright Hours”, the new film by Gerard & Kelly, will be previewed on 26 August at the Art-o-rama at the Belle de Mai, of which we are a partner this year.

The adventure between architect Le Corbusier and American dancer Josephine Baker on a 1929 cruise is the starting point for Gerard & Kelly’s new film. The two American artists infuse the modernist perfection of the Cité Radieuse with joyful sensuality and subversive force, re-imagining Le Corbusier’s modernist masterpiece as a boat floating on the horizon – suspending norms and boundaries for the duration of the voyage.

With Jeanne Balibar, Emara Neymour-Jackson, Germain Louvet and David Paycha, original music by Moses Sumney.
With the support of Dropbox.

Preview screening and meeting
26.08.22 – 16:30
Speakers: Bernard Blistène, Gerard & Kelly, Aurélien Vernant

Petit Plateau
Friche la Belle de Mai
41 rue Jobin – 13003 Marseille

The screening will be followed by a discussion with the artists Gerard and Kelly, Bernard Blistène, curator and former director of the Musée national d’Art moderne at the Centre Pompidou, and Aurélien Vernant (moderator), art critic and director of the Architecture de Collection agency.

This public meeting is an opportunity to present the genesis of the project, and to highlight the way in which it plays a part in the research of artists engaged in a critical re-reading of the architectural and aesthetic icons of Modernity. It is also an opportunity to talk about the “avant-garde laboratory” that the Unité d’habitation de Marseille, which is celebrating its 70th anniversary this year, has been since its creation in 1952.

Gerard & Kelly at the Villa Savoye, Poissy. Photo: Barrère & Simon

American artists based in Paris, Gerard & Kelly have developed an artistic identity on the border between dance and contemporary art. Their multidisciplinary practice, somewhere between installation and performance, incorporates video, writing, drawing and sculpture. Gerard & Kelly’s work has been presented internationally at art and architecture biennales, festivals and museums. Their work can be found in the collections of the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in New York, the Hammer Museum in Los Angeles, the LACMA Los Angeles County Museum of Art, the FRAC Franche-Comté in Besançon, and the Carré d’art – Musée d’art contemporain in Nîmes. Gerard & Kelly are currently working on two exhibitions to be presented at Carré d’art – Musée d’art contemporain de Nîmes and Marian Goodman Gallery (New York) in autumn 2022. As part of New Worlds, they are also preparing their next film project, which will be shot at Eileen Gray’s Villa E-1027.

Architectural walk and special tour

Come and discover the exhibitions on show at the Cité Radieuse this summer!

© Stephane Aboudaram | We are Content(s)

As part of the Art-o-rama fair (the contemporary art fair takes place this year from 25 to 28 August at the Belle de Mai), collectors and VIPs are invited to discover the summer exhibitions at the Cité Radieuse on Sunday 28 August.

On the programme: an “architectural walk” through the Cité’s spaces, and discovery of the “Daniel Arsham – Le Modulor du Basketball” exhibitions at the MAMO and “Ombre est lumière” (a photographic exhibition scattered throughout the lobby, restaurant and Supérette).

The stroll will take in 3rd and 4th streets, where visitors will be able to discover the Librairie Rupture & Imbernon as well as Maison Mirbel, partners of our agency. It will be followed by a lunch hosted by Architecture de Collection and its wine partner, the estate Terra Remota.

28.08.2022
From 11am
Booking required 

Unité d’Habitation – Cité Radieuse
280 boulevard Michelet – 13008 Marseille

© Stephane Aboudaram | We are Content(s)

A new educational partnership at the start of the new school year

Ecole Camondo-Méditerranée

Building on its commitment to modern heritage, and to support its preservation and transmission, Architecture de Collection is proud to announce a new educational partnership with the Camondo school of interior architecture and design, which has inaugurated a “Mediterranean” branch in Toulon in 2019!

Between September and December 2022, a group of fifth-year students will be asked to reflect and work (as part of their final year diploma) on the ‘common spaces’ of the housing unit, in order to draw up a programme of activities and uses linked to new lifestyles and contemporary ecological issues, based on an analysis of the site’s past, present and future. We’ll tell you more at the start of the new academic year…

Skip to main content
Provence & Côte d'AzurArchi & PatrimoineActualités

Les 70 ans de la Cité Radieuse : notre programme estival !

By 25 juillet 2022avril 8th, 2024No Comments

Ville verticale révolutionnaire, temple du Mouvement moderne inscrit au Patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO, la Cité Radieuse, achevée en octobre 1952, fête ses 70 ans !

Projet visionnaire commandé  – par l’Etat à Le Corbusier – dans le sillage de la guerre pour repenser en profondeur l’habitat collectif, l’Unité d’Habitation sera inaugurée en 1952 et s’imposera, dès sa création, comme un lieu d’avant garde et une icône moderne.

Catalogue du « Festival de l’art d’avant-garde », Cité Radieuse, Marseille, 1956

Vernissage du « Festival de l’art d’avant-garde », Cité Radieuse, Marseille, 1956

Pour marquer cet anniversaire, ses habitants, ses commerçants, et la ville de Marseille, se mobilisent pour accueillir cet été et à l’automne plusieurs événements, en partenariat exclusif avec notre agence Architecture de Collection.

Découvrez le détail des événements à ne pas manquer !

« Ombre est lumière »

Une exposition sur le photographe Lucien Hervé

Jusqu’au 18 septembre 2022, la Cité Radieuse accueille une exposition inédite du travail du photographe Lucien Hervé, conçue par la Keitelman Gallery et Valérie Palacios.

Disséminée dans différents espaces du bâtiment, l’exposition présente une série de ses premiers tirages sur l’Unité d’habitation, en dialogue avec une sélection de photographies de chefs-d’œuvre modernistes réalisées entre 1950 et 1965.

« Figurant parmi les plus grands photographes du 20e siècle, Lucien Hervé (1910 – 2007) est particulièrement renommé pour ses prises de vues architecturales.En 1949 sa rencontre avec l’œuvre de Le Corbusier puis avec l’architecte lui-même l’orientent de manière définitive vers la photographie et en particulier celle de l’architecture. […] « 

Imola Gebauer

Dans le hall & au restaurant
Exposition
18.07 — 18.09.2022

280 boulevard Michelet · 13008 Marseille

A la Supérette
Exposition : 01 – 31.08.2022
Conférence : 25.08.2022

280 boulevard Michelet · 13008 Marseille

Unité d’habitation, Marseille, Le Corbusier architecte, 1949 © Lucien Hervé – Getty Trust, Los Angeles/FLC-ADAGP

Brasilia, Brésil, Niemeyer architecte, 1961 © Lucien Hervé

« Ombre est lumière » en ligne…

A l’occasion de cette exposition-événement, Architecture de Collection vous propose une galerie d’images en ligne, présentant, dans la rubrique « Regards Photographiques » de son site web, une sélection curatée par la commissaire Valérie Palacios.

« Bright Hours » de Gerard & Kelly

Projection en avant-première et rencontre à Art-o-rama

Gerard & Kelly, Bright Hours, 2022. Vidéo 4K, couleur, son, 25 minutes. Avec Emara Neymour-Jackson. © Adagp, Paris, 2022.

« Bright Hours », le nouveau film de Gerard & Kelly, sera projeté en avant-première le 26 août lors de la foire d’art contemporain Art-o-rama à la Belle de Mai, dont nous sommes cette année partenaire.

L’aventure entre l’architecte Le Corbusier et la danseuse américaine Joséphine Baker lors d’une croisière en 1929 est le point de départ du nouveau film de Gerard & Kelly. Les deux artistes américains infusent dans la perfection moderniste de la Cité Radieuse une sensualité joyeuse et une force subversive, ré-imaginant le chef-d’œuvre moderniste de Le Corbusier comme un bateau flottant sur l’horizon – qui suspend, le temps du voyage, les normes et les frontières.

Avec Jeanne Balibar, Emara Neymour-Jackson, Germain Louvet et David Paycha, musique originale par Moses Sumney.
Avec le soutien de Dropbox.

Projection en avant-première et rencontre
26.08.22 – 16h30
Intervenants : Bernard Blistène, Gerard & Kelly, Aurélien Vernant

Petit Plateau
Friche la Belle de Mai
41 rue Jobin · 13003 Marseille

La projection sera suivie d’une discussion avec les artistes Gerard & Kelly, Bernard Blistène, conservateur et ancien directeur du Musée national d’Art moderne au Centre Pompidou, et Aurélien Vernant (modérateur), critique d’art et directeur de l’agence Architecture de Collection.

Cette rencontre publique est l’occasion de présenter la genèse du projet, de mettre en lumière la façon dont il intervient dans la recherche des artistes, engagés dans une relecture critique des icônes architecturales et esthétiques de la Modernité. C’est aussi l’occasion d’évoquer le « laboratoire d’avant-garde » que constitue, depuis sa création en 1952, l’Unité d’habitation de Marseille, qui célèbre cette année ses 70 ans.

Gerard & Kelly à la Villa Savoye, à Poissy. Photo: Barrère & Simon

Artistes américains basés à Paris, Gerard & Kelly ont développé une identité artistique à la frontière de la danse et de l’art contemporain. Leur pratique pluridisciplinaire, entre installation et performance, intègre la vidéo, l’écriture, le dessin ou encore la sculpture. Le travail de Gerard & Kelly a été présenté internationalement dans des biennales d’art et d’architecture, des festivals et des musées. Leurs œuvres sont présentes dans les collections du musée Solomon R. Guggenheim de New York ; du musée Hammer à Los Angeles ; du LACMA Los Angeles County Museum of Art, du FRAC Franche-Comté à Besançon, et du Carré d’art – Musée d’art contemporain de Nîmes. Gerard & Kelly travaillent actuellement sur deux expositions qui seront présentées au Carré d’art – Musée d’art contemporain de Nîmes et à la galerie Marian Goodman (New York) à l’automne 2022. Dans le cadre de Mondes nouveaux, ils préparent également leur prochain projet de film qui sera tourné à la Villa E-1027 d’Eileen Gray.

Promenade architecturale et visite privilège

Venez découvrir les expositions présentées cet été à la Cité Radieuse !

© Stephane Aboudaram | We are Content(s)

Dans le cadre de la foire Art-o-rama (le salon d’art contemporain se déroule cette année du 25 au 28 août à la Belle de Mai), les collectionneurs et VIP sont invités à découvrir les expositions d’été à la Cité Radieuse, le dimanche 28 Août.

Au programme : « promenade architecturale » au fil des espaces de la Cité, et découverte des expositions « Daniel Arsham – Le Modulor du Basketball » au MAMO et « Ombre est lumière » (exposition photographique disséminée dans le hall, le restaurant et la Supérette).

La déambulation passera par les 3e et 4e rues, où les visiteurs pourront notamment découvrir la Librairie Rupture & Imbernon ainsi que Maison Mirbel, partenaires de notre agence. Elle sera suivie d’un déjeuner offert par Architecture de Collection et son partenaire en vins, le domaine Terra Remota.

28.08.2022
A partir de 11h
Sur réservation 

Unité d’Habitation – Cité Radieuse
280 boulevard Michelet · 13008 Marseille

© Stephane Aboudaram | We are Content(s)

Un nouveau partenariat pédagogique à la rentrée

Ecole Camondo-Méditerranée

Fort de son engagement en faveur du patrimoine de la modernité, et pour soutenir sa préservation et sa transmission,
Architecture de Collection est fière d’annoncer un nouveau partenariat pédagogique avec l’école d’architecture d’intérieure et de design Camondo, qui a inauguré en 2019 une antenne « Méditerrannée » à Toulon !

Entre septembre et décembre 2022, un groupe d’étudiants de cinquième année sera amené à réfléchir et à travailler (dans le cadre de leur diplôme de fin d’études) sur les « espaces communs » de l’Unité d’habitation, afin de faire émerger, à partir d’une analyse sur le passé, le présent et l’avenir du site, un programme d’activités et d’usages liés aux nouveaux modes de vie et aux enjeux écologiques contemporains.

On vous en dit plus à la rentrée…