Skip to main content
PartenairesCentres d’art & Musées

Cité radieuse – MAMO

By 27 May 2020April 12th, 2024No Comments

MaMo, the initials of Marseille Modulor, is a contemporary art center created by designer Ora-ïto on the roof of Marseille’s famous Cité Radieuse, built by Le Corbusier from 1945 to 1952. The center is a permanent tribute to the rich dialogue between art and architecture.

Opened in 2013, MaMo crowns the Cité Radieuse with a center for artistic expression. The roof terrace of the housing unit has been completely renovated to accommodate an exhibition room in the former gymnasium. Visual artists, sculptors and performers are regularly housed here, thanks to the patronage of Audi Talent Award.

Real name Ito Morabito, designer Ora-ïto was born in Marseille in 1977. Since the 1990s, he has been designing objects and accessories for luxury brands and major industrial groups. Throughout his career, he has responded to a wide range of commissions, from interior design to home furnishings. In 2013, he created the Ora-ïto mobility brand, for which he designs headphones.

Photos : © Olivier Amsellem

Centre d’art de la Cité Radieuse
280, Boulevard Michelet 13008 Marseille
https://mamo.fr/

Cité radieuse – MAMO

MUSÉE

Le MaMo, initiales de Marseille Modulor, est un centre d’art contemporain aménagé par le designer Ora-ïto sur le toit de la célèbre Cité Radieuse à Marseille, édifiée par Le Corbusier de 1945 à 1952. Ce lieu de diffusion et de création est un hommage permanent à la richesse du dialogue entre art et architecture.

Ouvert en 2013, le MaMo couronne la Cité Radieuse d’un centre d’expression artistique. Le toit-terrasse de l’unité d’habitation a été entièrement rénové pour accueillir une salle d’exposition dans l’ancien gymnase. Plasticiens, sculpteurs ou performeurs y sont régulièrement hébergés grâce au mécénat d’Audi Talent Award.

De son vrai nom Ito Morabito, le designer Ora-ïto est né en 1977 à Marseille. Dès les années 1990, il dessine objets et accessoires pour des marques de luxe ou des grands groupes industriels. Tout au long de sa carrière, il sait répondre à des commandes variées, de la décoration intérieure aux équipements domestiques. En 2013, il crée la marque Ora-ïto mobility pour laquelle il dessine des casques audio.

Photos : © Olivier Amsellem

Photo : © Architecture de collection

Centre d’art de la Cité Radieuse
280, Boulevard Michelet 13008 Marseille