Modernist villa

Georges Brera, Peter Böcklin & Bernard Morcellin architects
1976
Cologny (Switzerland)

Price upon request

290 m²
Land: 1 900 m²
5 bedrooms
Swimming pool

Description

A Brutalist villa on the shores of Lake Geneva

Designed by Swiss architect Georges Brera, this spectacular raw concrete villa with its avant-garde lines enjoys an enchanting setting in Cologny, in the canton of Geneva.

Set in almost 2 000 m² of south-facing landscaped grounds, this L-shaped property offers 290 m² of living space (390 m² of usable space) and benefits from a large swimming pool.

The house was designed in 1976 to accommodate two families. It is characterised by the fluidity of its circulation and offers great freedom of use and layout.

The first house includes a vast entrance hall with toilet and cloakroom, leading to a large living area with lounge and dining room separated by an elegant fireplace, overlooking the garden and swimming pool, as well as an adjoining kitchen.

The first floor features a staircase leading to a master suite with bedroom, dressing room and bathroom, opening onto a terrace. Another staircase leads, again on the first floor, to two bedrooms, each with its own balcony and bathroom.

The second flat, on the ground floor, comprises an entrance hall, a summer lounge with kitchen and two bedrooms with en suite bathrooms.

The basement is composed of a bright room, a bathroom, a laundry room, several cellars including a wine cellar, a workshop and technical rooms. The property also features a garage and parking spaces.

The villa enjoys a peaceful, green setting in a privileged residential area in Cologny, on the shores of Lake Geneva and close to the Cologny golf course. The centre of Geneva is just ten minutes away by car or public transport.

Generosity of space and brutalist poetry

This villa is a late work by Georges Brera, who designed it in collaboration with Peter Böcklin and Bernard Mocellin. In response to their clients’ desire for a villa composed of two flats, the architects opted for an L-shaped plan, with two wings framing a shared garden with a swimming pool.

The composition of the interior spaces demonstrates a subtle layout logic, based on the partial interweaving of the two flats, with no clear boundaries. This original approach enhances the experience of domestic life, ensuring that circulation flows smoothly while preserving the independence of each space, thanks to the work done on individual access.

The villa adopts a brutalist architectural language, focusing in particular on the contrasting effects of masses and empty spaces. The expressiveness of the wide concrete bands, left unfinished, is matched by the tranparency of the glazed surfaces. The aesthetic strength of the home also relies on the quality of the design and certain details, such as the slight overhang of the roofs (which protect the bay windows from the high sun) and the treatment of the balconies, which are fitted with privacy screens to protect the residents’ privacy.

Villa Maier, archive image, rights reserved

Carouge Towers, 1958-1969, archive image, rights reserved

Georges Brera

Georges Brera (1919-2000) was the author of a prolific body of architectural work. Over the course of his career, he worked on a wide range of projects, from the renovation of flats to urban planning, including the construction of factories and large-scale public facilities. The Swiss architect designed around forty villas, of which approximately half were built, most of them in the canton of Geneva. Throughout his career, single-family housing has been a laboratory for modernity, a field for technical and aesthetic experimentation.

After graduating as an architect and draughtsman from the Ecole des Arts et Métiers in Geneva in 1935 and 1940, he continued his architectural training at the Haute Ecole d’Architecture in Geneva, where he attended Eugène Beaudouin’s lectures between 1943 and 1946. He worked on the exhibition L’Amérique Bâtit, where he discovered the works of American masters Frank Lloyd Wright, Richard Neutra and Mies van der Rohe.

His career was punctuated by numerous collaborations. He teamed up with Jean-Maurice Bommer, with whom he worked for the city of Geneva’s urban planning department, collaborated with the architect and engineer Paul Waltenspühl, and with Marc-Joseph Saugey, a leading figure in post-war urban planning in Geneva.

In 1953, he took part in the 9th CIAM in Aix-en-Provence, as a delegate of the Geneva Group, where he met Le Corbusier during a visit to the Unité d’habitation in Marseille. In 1958, he designed the Villa Maier for the Austrian ambassador, which won him international recognition, as well as the Carouge Towers, which anchored his work in the Brutalist movement. From the 1970s onwards, he began to work on major public commissions, including the Geneva Exhibition Centre and the Geneva Stadium.

Infos techniques

Prix sur demande
Taxe Foncière : NC
Pleine propriété

A rénover.

DPE : NC

Additional information

Prix de vente

Price upon request

Architecte

Georges Brera

Géolocalisation

Near Genève

You may also like…

A vendre

Villa moderniste

Georges Brera, Peter Böcklin & Bernard Morcellin architectes
1976
Cologny (Suisse)
Prix sur demande

 

01 53 00 97 44

 

290 m²
Terrain : 1 900 m²
5 chambres
Piscine

Description

Une villa brutaliste sur les bords du Lac Léman

Conçue par l’architecte suisse Georges Brera, cette spectaculaire villa de béton brut aux lignes avant-gardistes profite d’un cadre enchanteur à Cologny, dans le canton de Genève.

Construite sur un terrain paysager de près de 2000 m² exposé plein sud, cette propriété en forme de L offre une surface habitable de 290 m² (390 m² de surface utile) et profite d’une grande piscine. 

La maison a été conçue en 1976 pour accueillir deux familles. Elle est caractérisée par la fluidité de ses circulations et offre une grande liberté d’usages et d’aménagements. 

La première habitation comprend un vaste hall d’entrée avec toilettes et vestiaire, menant à un grand espace de vie avec salon et salle à manger séparés par une élégante cheminée, tournés vers le jardin et la piscine, ainsi qu’une cuisine attenante.

Le premier étage accueille, via un premier escalier, une suite parentale avec chambre, dressing et salle de bain, ouvrant sur une terrasse. Un autre escalier mène, toujours au premier étage, à deux chambres profitant chacune de leur balcon et de leur salle de bain. 

Le second logement, situé au rez-de-chaussée, se compose d’un hall d’entrée, d’un salon d’été avec cuisine et de deux chambres avec salle de bain.

Au sous-sol, une pièce lumineuse, une salle de bain, une buanderie, plusieurs caves dont une cave à vins, un atelier et des locaux techniques complètent l’ensemble. La propriété comprend également un garage et des places de stationnement.

La villa profite d’un cadre de vie paisible et verdoyant au sein d’un quartier résidentiel privilégié à Cologny, sur les bords du Lac Léman, à proximité du Golf de Cologny.  Le centre de Genève est à une dizaine de minutes en voiture ou en transports en commun.

Générosité des espaces et poésie brutaliste

Cette villa constitue une oeuvre tardive de Georges Brera, qui la conçoit en collaboration avec Peter Böcklin et Bernard Mocellin. Pour répondre aux commanditaires, qui souhaitaient une villa composée de deux appartements, les architectes optent pour un plan en L, formé de deux ailes, qui encadrent un jardin commun, doté d’une piscine. La composition des espaces intérieurs démontre une logique d’aménagement subtile, fondée sur l’imbrication partielle, et sans limite franche, des deux logements. Ce parti pris original dynamise l’expérience de la vie domestique, lui assurant une grande fluidité de circulation tout en préservant l’indépendance de chaque espace, grâce à un travail sur les accès.

La villa adopte un langage architectural brutaliste, misant notamment sur les effets de contraste entre les pleins et les vides. A l’expressivité des larges bandeaux de béton, laissé brut, répond la légèreté des surfaces vitrées. La force plastique de l’ensemble tient aussi à la qualité du dessin et de certains détails : la légère avancée des toitures (qui protègent les baies vitrées du soleil haut) ou le traitement des balcons, dotés de brise-vues pour préserver l’intimité des habitants.

Intéressé par ce bien ?

01 53 00 97 44

Villa Maier, image d’archive, droits réservés

Tours Carouge, 1958-1969, image d’archive, droits réservés

Georges Brera

Georges Brera (1919-2000) est l’auteur d’une oeuvre architecturale prolifique. S’il intervient au cours de sa carrière sur de multiples typologie, depuis la rénovation d’appartements jusqu’à l’aménagement urbain, en passant par la réalisation d’usines et d’équipements publics d’ampleurs, l’architecte suisse a dessiné une quarantaine de villas, dont la moitié environ a été construite, la plupart dans le canton de Genève. Au fil de son parcours, l’habitat individuel a constitué un laboratoire de la modernité, un terrain d’expérimentation technique et esthétique.

Diplômé architecte-dessinateur de l’école des Arts et Métiers de Genève en 1935 en 1940, il poursuit sa formation en architecture à la Haute Ecole d’Architecture de Genève, où il assiste aux enseignements d’Eugène Beaudouin entre 1943 et 1946. Il travaille sur l’exposition L’Amérique Bâtit, par laquelle il découvre les œuvres des maîtres américains Frank Lloyd Wright, Richard Neutra ou Mies van der Rohe.

Son parcours est ponctué de multiples collaborations. Il s’associe avec Jean-Maurice Bommer, avec qui il travaille pour le service d’urbanisme de la ville de Genève, collabore avec l’architecte et ingénieur Paul Waltenspühl, ainsi qu’avec Marc-Joseph Saugey, figure de l’urbanisme genevois d’après-guerre. 

En 1953, il participe au 9e CIAM d’Aix-en-Provence, en tant que délégué du Groupe de Genève et y fait la rencontre de Le Corbusier lors d’une visite de l’Unité d’habitation à Marseille. En 1958, il réalise la villa Maier pour l’ambassadeur d’Autriche, qui bénéficie d’une reconnaissance internationale, ainsi que les Tours de Carouge qui ancrent son travail dans le mouvement brutaliste. Il accède à la grande commande publique à partir des années 1970 et se voit chargé d’équipements d’envergure, comme le Palais d’exposition genevois ou le stade de Genève.

Infos techniques

Prix sur demande
Taxe Foncière : NC
Pleine propriété

A rénover.

DPE : NC



		

Vous aimerez peut-être aussi…