Latapie House

Lacaton & Vassal architects
1993
Floirac (33)

€615,000

120 sqm
Garden: 150 sqm
3 bedrooms
Greenhouse: 50 sqm

Description

Lacaton & Vassal’s most famous house is for sale.

Located in Floirac near Bordeaux, the Maison Latapie is the manifesto of French architects Anne Lacaton and Jean-Philippe Vassal, whose work was awarded the prestigious Pritzker Prize in 2021. The house was awarded the “Remarkable Contemporary Architecture” label in February 2023.

Built in 1993 for Mr and Mrs Latapie and their two children, this family home has enjoyed an exceptional run and has been the subject of numerous publications around the world. A contemporary icon, it continues to fascinate and inspire architects in their search for flexible, economical and environmentally-friendly housing.

Set in a 330 sqm plot of land, the house spans 170 sqm over two levels.

The Latapie House does not have a front door in the traditional sense of the term, but a modular façade made up of multiple fibre cement panels that open out across the entire width of the building. On the ground floor, there is an entrance hall, living room, dining area and open-plan kitchen, organised around a central technical block that houses the staircase and sanitary facilities. Upstairs are three bedrooms arranged around the same technical block, which includes a bathroom. The living spaces on the ground floor are extended on the garden side by a vast translucent polycarbonate greenhouse that has been converted into a living room. The garden of around 150 sqm has a shed or workshop at the bottom of the plot.

It is also possible to purchase a 198 sqm adjoining plot.

The interior volume is open plan, offering great freedom of layout. The floor coverings reflect the different uses of the spaces: black and white tiles for the entrance, kitchen and dining area, and parquet for the living room. The interior walls, in wide-grained plywood, give the spaces a soft, warm feel. The door and window openings are plain and unadorned, with simple openings in the wooden walls.

The house is ideally located in Floirac, on the outskirts of Bordeaux, not far from the Garonne. It is located in a quiet residential area with all amenities close at hand. Schools, transport links, shops and health services are all within easy reach.

The greenhouse: a factory of everyday life

Between inside and outside, the greenhouse’s luminous volume opens entirely onto the garden, allowing the house to evolve with the seasons. Thanks to its eastern position, it catches the first rays of the morning sun. In winter, it creates a thermal buffer that helps to save energy in the heated rooms of the wooden structure.

This horticultural greenhouse is a clear demonstration of the Latapie house’s commitment to economy of means, ecology and, above all, generosity of space. It is the embodiment of the architects’ commitment to freedom of design, mixed use and, as a result, the ongoing reinvention of domestic uses.

A pavilion like no other

Laid on a slab, the construction system of the Latapie house consists of a metal structure inspired by a farm shed, with a fixed part and a part that opens out. The living space, a large wooden cube, is slid inside this structure. On the outside of the framework, enclosing this wooden box, are corrugated fibre cement sheets on the street side and corrugated translucent polycarbonate sheets on the garden side, forming a second, watertight and protective skin. This skin protects the house from the elements, while letting in generous amounts of light from the conservatory side.

© Philippe Ruault, 1993

© Philippe Ruault, 1993

An innovative project that has become a model for alternative housing

The clients wanted to build a family home for themselves and their two children. They had a very tight budget, enough to build a standard detached house delivered “turnkey” by a developer. So they turned to young Bordeaux architects Anne Lacaton and Jean-Philippe Vassal.

The architectural duo came up with a solution based on a careful analysis of the family’s lifestyle and, in order to keep to the tight budget, on a principle of economy taken to extremes, which was to become the hallmark of their approach. They used materials, techniques and processes derived from industrial and agricultural construction, which they adapted to the specific uses of domestic life.

Lacaton & Vassal – Model of the preliminary project. Gift of the architects to the Centre Pompidou – MNAM CCI, 2005.

The Fonds Régional d’Art Contemporain in Dunkirk, 2015 © Philippe Ruault

Lacaton & Vassal

Anne Lacaton and Jean-Philippe Vassal graduated from the Ecole Nationale Supérieure d’Architecture in Bordeaux in 1980, and set up their own practice there in 1987. They carried out their first projects in the Bordeaux region, mainly detached houses (six were delivered between 1993 and 2005), all laboratories for a radical approach to architecture, based on ethics and economy of means.

They moved to Paris in 2000 to work on the Palais de Tokyo project, and went on to sign a number of major projects, including the Sciences de Gestion university centre in Bordeaux, the Nantes School of Architecture, the FRAC Nord-Pas-de-Calais in Dunkirk, the Tour Bois-le-Prêtre in Paris (with Frédéric Druot and Christophe Hutin), and the renovation of buildings G, H and I at the Grand Parc in Bordeaux.

Lacaton & Vassal was awarded the Grand Prix national d’architecture in 2008, the Equerre d’Argent in 2011 for the Tour Bois-le-Prêtre project, the Global Award for Sustainable Architecture at the Cité de l’architecture & du patrimoine in 2018, the Mies van der Rohe Prize in 2019 and the prestigious Pritzker Prize in 2021.

Technical elements

Asking price: €615,000. Fees are included and payable by the vendor.
Pleine property.

Property tax: €1,825

198 m² plot available in addition: €163,500

ENERGY CLASS: D / CLIMATE CLASS: B
Estimated average annual energy costs for standard use, based on 2021 energy prices: between €1,440 and €2,020.

Additional information

Prix de vente

615 000 €

Architecte

Lacaton & Vassal

Géolocalisation

Floirac (33)

You may also like…

Maison Latapie

Lacaton & Vassal architectes
1993
Floirac (33)
695 000 €

 

01 53 00 97 44

 

120 m² habitable
Serre : 50 m²
3 chambres
Jardin : 150 m²

Description

La plus célèbre des maisons de Lacaton & Vassal est à vendre.

Située à Floirac près de Bordeaux, la Maison Latapie est le manifeste des architectes français Anne Lacaton et Jean-Philippe Vassal, dont l’œuvre a été couronnée du prestigieux « Pritzker Prize » en 2021.

Construite en 1993 pour Monsieur et Madame Latapie et leurs deux enfants, cette maison familiale a connu une postérité exceptionnelle et fait l’objet de nombreuses publications à travers le monde. Icone contemporaine, elle continue aujourd’hui de fasciner autant que d’inspirer les architectes dans la recherche d’un habitat flexible, économique, écologique.

Sur un terrain de 330 m², la maison développe une surface de 170 m² sur deux niveaux.

La Maison Latapie n’a pas de porte d’entrée au sens traditionnel du terme, mais une façade modulaire constituée de multiples panneaux en fibro-ciment qui s’ouvrent sur toute la largeur de l’édifice. Elle offre au rez-de-chaussée une entrée, un salon, un espace repas et une cuisine ouverte, organisés autour d’un bloc technique central qui abrite l’escalier et des sanitaires. L’étage comprend trois chambres disposées autour de ce même bloc technique, qui inclut une salle de bain. Les espaces de vie du rez-de-chaussée sont prolongés côté jardin par une vaste serre en polycarbonate translucide aménagée en pièce de vie. Le jardin d’environ 150 m² dispose d’un abri ou atelier en fond de parcelle.

Le volume intérieur est décloisonné et offre une grande liberté d’aménagement. Les revêtements des sols indiquent les différents usages des espaces : du carrelage noir et blanc pour l’entrée, la cuisine et l’espace repas, et du parquet pour le salon. Les murs intérieurs, en contreplaqués à larges veinures, donnent aux espaces une atmosphère douce et chaleureuse. Les ouvertures des portes et des fenêtres sont sobres et sans ornement, simples percements dans la paroi de bois.

La maison profite d’un emplacement idéal à Floirac, dans la périphérie de Bordeaux, non loin de la Garonne. Elle se situe dans un quartier résidentiel calme et dispose de toutes les commodités de proximité. Etablissements scolaires, transports, commerces et services de santé sont facilement accessibles.

La serre : une fabrique de la vie quotidienne

Entre intérieur et extérieur, le volume lumineux de la serre s’ouvre entièrement sur le jardin et permet à la maison d’évoluer au gré des saisons. Grâce à son implantation à l’Est, elle capte les premiers rayons du soleil le matin. L’hiver, elle crée un tampon thermique qui favorise une économie d’énergie pour les pièces chauffées du volume de bois.

Cette serre horticole marque le caractère manifeste de la maison Latapie en matière d’économie de moyens, d’écologie, et surtout de générosité spatiale ; elle matérialise l’engagement des architectes en faveur d’une liberté d’aménagement, d’une mixité et donc d’une réinvention permanente des usages domestiques.

Un pavillon pas comme les autres

Posé sur une dalle, le système constructif de la maison Latapie se compose d’une structure métallique inspirée du hangar agricole, avec une partie fixe et une partie qui s’ouvre. Le volume habité, grand cube de bois, est glissé à l’intérieur de cette structure. A l’extérieur de l’ossature, englobant cette caisse de bois, sont posées des plaques de fibro-ciment ondulées côté rue et des plaques de polycarbonate translucide ondulées aussi côté jardin, qui forment une seconde peau étanche et protectrice. Cette peau abrite la maison des intempéries tout en laissant entrer généreusement la lumière côté serre.

© Philippe Ruault, 1993

© Philippe Ruault, 1993

Un projet novateur devenu modèle d’habitat alternatif

Les commanditaires souhaitaient faire construire une maison de famille pour eux et leurs deux enfants. Ils disposaient d’un budget très contraint, suffisant pour construire un pavillon standard livré « clé en main » par un promoteur. Ils préférèrent se tourner vers de jeunes architectes bordelais : Anne Lacaton et Jean-Philippe Vassal.

Le duo d’architectes formule une réponse fondée sur une écoute attentive du mode de vie de cette famille, et, pour tenir le budget serré, sur un principe d’économie poussé à l’extrême, qui deviendra la marque de fabrique de leur approche. Ils mettent en œuvre des matériaux, techniques et procédés issus des constructions industrielles et agricoles, qu’ils adaptent aux usages spécifiques de la vie domestique.

© Lacaton & Vassal – Maquette du projet préliminaire. Don des architectes au Centre Pompidou – MNAM CCI, 2005.

Intéressé par ce bien ?

01 53 00 97 44

Prix demandé : 695 000 €. Les honoraires TTC sont inclus à la charge du vendeur.
Pleine propriété.

DPE

GES

FRAC NORD PAS DE CALAIS_LACATON VASSAL ARCHITECTES_DUNKERQUE

Le Fonds Régional d’Art Contemporain à Dunkerque, 2015 © Philippe Ruault

French architects Anne Lacaton (L) and Jean-Philippe Vassal (R)  pose at their worshop in Montreuil, outside Paris, on March 16, 2021. - The Pritzker Prize -- architecture's most prestigious award -- was awarded to French duo Jean-Philippe Vassal and Anne Lacaton for their affordable, eco-friendly spaces that prioritize the well-being of the many. (Photo by JOEL SAGET / AFP)

© Joël Saget/AFP

Lacaton & Vassal

Diplômés de l’Ecole nationale supérieure d’architecture de Bordeaux en 1980, Anne Lacaton et Jean-Philippe Vassal y créent leur agence en 1987. Ils réalisent leur premiers projets dans la région bordelaise, principalement des maisons individuelles (six seront livrées entre 1993 et 2005), autant de laboratoires d’une approche radicale de l’architecture, fondée sur l’éthique et l’économie de moyens.

Ils déménagent à Paris en 2000 pour travailler sur le projet du Palais de Tokyo, et signent de nombreuses réalisations d’ampleur, comme le pôle universitaire de Sciences de Gestion à Bordeaux, l’Ecole d’architecture de Nantes, le FRAC Nord-Pas-de-Calais à Dunkerque, la Tour Bois-le-Prêtre à Paris (avec Frédéric Druot et Christophe Hutin), ou la rénovation des bâtiments G, H et I du Grand Parc à Bordeaux.

L’agence Lacaton & Vassal a été récompensée du Grand Prix national d’architecture en 2008, de l’Equerre d’Argent en 2011 pour le projet de la Tour Bois-le-Prêtre, le Global Award for Sustainable Architecture à la Cité de l’architecture & du patrimoine en 2018, le Prix Mies van der Rohe en 2019 et le prestigieux Prix Pritzker en 2021.



		

Vous aimerez peut-être aussi…