Skip to main content
NewsArchitecture & HeritageArt & designInternational

The French pavilion by Julien Creuzet at the 60th Venice Biennale

The 60th Venice Biennale will be held from 20th April to 24th November 2024. Its theme, “Foreigners Everywhere”, inspired by Claire Fontaine’s work of the same name, focuses on “immigrant, expatriate, diasporic, exiled and refugee” artists and their atypical careers.

Julien Creuzet, a Franco-Caribbean visual artist and poet, represents France through a composition that combines a diversity of materials, histories, forms and gestures.

Julien Creuzet © Pascal Cholette

Dreamlike landscapes in the French pavilion

The artist presents a multisensory and poetic installation entitled “Attila cataracts your source at the foot of the green peaks will end in the great sea blue abyss“.

A video animation projected onto the neo-Gothic façade of the pavilion brings to life mythological figures embodying the five continents. Inside, intertwined liana-sculptures, ropes from marine hoisting nets, organic elements and rubbish create a marvellous underwater landscape that blends aquatic and sylvan imaginations.

This underwater aesthetic is complemented by 80 composite sculptures. Classical statues of ancient empires drift upside down, hybrid beings (female rays, male squid, baby swimmers) are depicted dancing. The principle of assemblage employed is characteristic of the artist’s work, which combines industrial materials with natural elements such as shipwrecks formed by the surf.

Julien Creuzet also wanted to convey his visions of the forest and the perceptions it arouses: a place for witches, a place of resistance, a hostile place, in his view it is “a multi-sensory space that intensely involves the body”.

 © Jacopo la Forgia
b

© Marco Zorzanello

© Jacopo la Forgia

Poetry, musicality and creole orality 

Creole, poetic and often cryptic, language holds a prominent place here. Witness the title of the exhibition – “Attila cataracts your source / at the foot of the green peaks / will end in the great sea / blue abyss / we drowned / in the tears tides of the moon.” – which is a work in itself. Julien Creuzet reminds us of the importance of using Creole to translate images, onomatopoeia that can only be said in that language. A pop soundtrack played in the space allows the poet’s voice and words to be heard. Using alliteration and associations of images and ideas, the poems reveal a dreamy ultramarine consonance.

© Marco Zorzanello

Transoceanic cultures and myths in Serenissima

On 6 February 2024, to launch his participation in the Biennial, Julien Creuzet organised a press conference in Martinique, at the Maison Édouard Glissant in Le Diamant. By inaugurating its participation in the Biennial in this way, the French pavilion is underlining the essential contribution made by the overseas territories to the visual, literary and intellectual fields.

Combining a variety of artistic media, the artist probes the founding myths of these mixed civilisations, inviting viewers to immerse themselves in the pictorial, sculptural, literary and sonic landscapes that make up the Carribean territory. Described by the poet and visual artist as an “archipelago”, the city evokes the maritime movement, the meeting point of waters, shores and artists.

© Marco Zorzanello

© Courtesy Julien Creuzet et High Art, Paris

Julien Creuzet

Born in 1986 in Le Blanc-Mesnil, Julien Creuzet is a Franco-Martinican poet and visual artist. Combining sculpture, visual installations and poetry, he creates narrative spaces where collective memory and personal history meet. (Like relics brought ashore by an ocean tide, the objects he composes question colonial legacies, hybrid identities and possible futures). After receiving the 2019 Camden Arts Centre Award in London, he was nominated two years later for the Marcel Duchamp Prize.

Skip to main content
Art & designArchi & PatrimoineInternationalActualités

Le pavillon français par Julien Creuzet à la 60e Biennale de Venise

Du 20 avril au 24 novembre 2024 se tient la 60ème édition de la Biennale de Venise. Sa thématique “Foreigners Everywhere” inspirée de l’œuvre éponyme de Claire Fontaine met l’accent sur les artistes “immigrés, expatriés, diasporiques, exilés, réfugiés” et sur leur parcours atypiques.

Julien Creuzet, artiste visuel, plasticien et poète franco-caribéen, représente la France par une composition qui croise une diversité de matériaux, d’histoires, de formes et de gestes. 

Julien Creuzet © Pascal Cholette

Paysages oniriques au pavillon français

L’artiste présente une installation multisensorielle et poétique intitulée “Attila cataracte ta source aux pieds des pitons verts finira dans la grande mer gouffre bleu”. 

Une animation vidéo projetée sur la façade néo-gothique du pavillon donne vie à des figures mythologiques qui incarnent les cinq continents. A l’intérieur, des sculptures-lianes enchevêtrées entre elles, des cordages de filet de levage marin, des éléments organiques et des déchets composent un paysage sous-marin merveilleux qui mêle imaginaires aquatique et sylvestre. 

Cette esthétique subaquatique est complétée par 80 sculptures composites. Des statues classiques d’anciens empires dérivent la tête à l’envers, des êtres hybrides (femmes-raies, hommes-calamars, bébé-nageurs) sont représentés dansant. Le principe d’assemblage employé est caractéristique du travail du plasticien, qui réunit des matériaux industriels avec des éléments naturels, comme des épaves formées par le ressac. 

Julien Creuzet a souhaité retranscrire aussi ses visions de la forêt et les perceptions qu’elle suscite : lieu des sorcières, lieu de résistance, lieu hostile, elle est selon lui “un espace multisensoriel qui implique intensément le corps”. 

 © Jacopo la Forgia
b

© Marco Zorzanello

© Jacopo la Forgia

Poésie, musicalité et oralité créole 

Créole, poétique et souvent cryptique, le langage tient ici une place de marque. En témoigne le titre de l’exposition – “Attila cataracte ta source / aux pieds des pitons verts / finira dans la grande mer / gouffre bleu / nous nous noyâmes / dans les larmes marées de la lune.” – qui est une œuvre en soi. Julien Creuzet rappelle l’importance d’employer le créole pour traduire des images, des onomatopés qui ne peuvent se dire que dans cette langue. Une bande son pop diffusée dans l’espace fait entendre la voix et les mots du poète. Usant d’allitérations et d’associations d’images et d’idées, les poèmes révèlent une consonance ultramarine rêveuse.

© Marco Zorzanello

Cultures et mythes transocéaniques à la Sérénissime

Le 6 février 2024, en guise de lancement de sa participation à la Biennale, Julien Creuzet a organisé une conférence de presse en Martinique, à la Maison Édouard Glissant, au Diamant. En inaugurant ainsi sa participation à la Biennale, le pavillon français souligne la contribution essentielle des territoires ultramarins dans les champs plastique, littéraire et intellectuel. 

Mêlant une multiplicité de médiums artistiques, l’artiste  sonde les mythes fondateurs de ces civilisations métissées et invite le spectateur à s’immerger dans les paysages picturaux, sculpturaux, littéraires, et sonores qui composent le territoire carribéen. Convoquer la Caraïbe et sa culture francophone à Venise est significatif; décrite par le poète-plasticien comme un “archipel”, la ville évoque le mouvement maritime, le point de rencontre des eaux, des rives et des artistes.

© Marco Zorzanello

© Courtesy Julien Creuzet et High Art, Paris

Julien Creuzet

Né en 1986 au Blanc-Mesnil, Julien Creuzet est un poète et plasticien franco-martinicais. Mêlant sculptures, installations visuelles, et poésie, il crée des espaces narratifs où se rencontrent mémoire collective et histoire personnelle. (Semblables à des reliques ramenées à terre par une marée océanique, les objets qu’il compose questionnent les héritages coloniaux, les identités hybrides et les futurs possibles). Après avoir reçu en 2019 le prix du Camden Arts Centre à Londres, il a été nominé deux ans plus tard pour le prix Marcel Duchamp.